Skip to main content Skip to footer

Volleyball Eagles Land Two on the All-Conference Teams

Junior Mary Pursell
Nov. 18, 2014

IRVING, Texas- Conference USA has announced its 2014 Volleyball All-Conference Teams. The first team (11 members), second team (13 members) and seven-member freshman squads were selected via a vote of the league's head coaches. Regular season co-champions UTSA and WKU led the way with six awards apiece.

Mary Pursell and Jasmine Crowell represented the Golden Eagles on the all-conference teams as Pursell earned first team honors while Crowell was named to the second team.

Pursell, a Kenner, La., native was first in the league during C-USA action in digs per set (4.95). She has recorded double-digit digs in 27 matches included the last 23. Pursell tallied 20 or more digs in 11 matches including a 33-dig performance against Southeastern Louisiana. She finished with 14 aces on the season. Pursell joined the 1,000-dig club at Southern Miss after a 22-dig performance against Marshall.

Crowell, a Gulf Breeze, Fla., native was fourth in the league in overall hitting percentage (.353) and finished league play averaging 3.93 points and 3.15 kills per set. She led the team in blocks and hitting percentage. Crowell recorded a career-high 25 kills against FIU and had a season-high 12 total blocks against Nicholls State. She needs only 10 kills to reach the 1,000-kill plateau.

Senior Jasmine Crowell
ALL-CONFERENCE FIRST TEAM Katarina Stepanovic, Jr., MB, Florida Atlantic
Chelsea Ross, Jr., OH, Middle Tennessee
Carnae Dillard, Jr., OH, North Texas
Jillian Humphrey, Sr., MB, Rice
Mary Pursell, Jr., LIB, Southern Miss
Dajana Boskovic, So., OH, UTSA
Dempsey Thornton, Sr., OH, UTSA
Jessica Waldrip, So., S, UTSA
Heather Boyan, Sr., MH, WKU
Jessica Lucas, Fr., S, WKU
Alyssa Cavanaugh, Fr., OH/RS, WKU

Brittney Brown, Jr., MB, Florida Atlantic
Rebecca Redgen, Sr., OH, LA Tech
Ally Kiekover, So., MB, Marshall
Sammie Bane, Sr., S, Marshall
Hanna Forst, Sr., OH, North Texas
Sara Blasier, So., S, Rice
Leah Mikesky, So., OH, Rice
Chelsey Harris, So., OH/RS, Rice
Sara Rishell, Sr., MB, UAB
Jasmine Crowell, Sr., OH/MB, Southern Miss
Kylie Schott, Jr., MB, UTSA
Annie Kunes, Jr., LIB, UTSA
Noelle Langenkamp, Jr., MH, WKU

Jennifer Ene, MB, FIU
Amanda Chamberlain, MB, North Texas
Portia Okafor, MB, Rice
Coline Coessens, OH, UTEP
Marijeta Runjic, OH, UTSA
Jessica Lucas, S, WKU
Alyssa Cavanaugh, OH, WKU

Online Store