Go Eagles!
Go Eagles!
 
Getting to Know Katie Steelman

Katie Steelman

Katie Steelman

Nov. 1, 2012

Katie Steelman is one of five sophomores on the squad. Steelman has played in 14 matches with one start thus far. She has tallied 14 kills, 14 digs and six total blocks. She recorded a season-high three aces against Marshall.

Full Name: Katie Elizabeth Steelman

Name as you want it to appear: Katie

Birthdate: May 8

Major(s): Marketing

Family members (parents + include ages with siblings): Scott, Vicki, Abbie (22), and Maggie (8)

Family members who competed in college or professional athletics (where and when): My dad played soccer in college at Samford University

Hobbies/Interests: Anything outdoors. I love the beach and being on the water. I also really enjoy photography.

Do you do any volunteer activities? If yes, what? I have been on several mission trips to the Dominican Republic and Costa Rica

Are you involved in any organizations or honor societies on campus? I am on the FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes) leadership team.

Why did you choose Southern Miss? I chose Southern Miss because I loved the people here. I couldn't ask for better teammates and coaches.

Favorites	Athlete: Tim Tebow
     Movie: The Proposal
     TV show: Cake Boss
     Sports team: Southern Miss Volleyball :) but Alabama Football is second
         ...Roll Tide!
     Food: Italian...and anything chocolate
     Place on campus: The library (well really just the Starbucks inside of it)
     Cartoon character: Scooby Doo
     Vacation spot: Amalfi Coast, Italy
     Volleyball player: Kerri Walsh

First started volleyball (age/grade): 11/5th grade

Most memorable match: When we played UCF at home in 2011

My favorite thing about Southern Miss Volleyball are: The rock star bus, the coliseum, and the snack bag.

Best road trip: El Paso...I thought we were in Mexico!

Before each match I ... (do what): Listen to music, visualize, and mentally prepare for the match

In off-season training, I worked on: My vertical and being faster/stronger. I also played a lot of beach volleyball.

This summer, I did (What are you doing now? - classes, working, etc.): This summer I went on a mission trip to the Dominican Republic, trained for the season, spent some time at the beach, and enjoyed spending time with family and friends.

The best thing about Hattiesburg is: I would have to say all of the wonderful places to eat.

When I run out onto the court in the Coliseum, I think: Let's do this thanggg!!

If I wasn't playing college volleyball, I would be ... (doing what): I would most likely be attending college in Florida and not having near as much fun as I am playing volleyball.

My role models are: My parents

What talent would you like to have? I would love to be musically talented

Fantasy job/career: An astronaut....although I would never really do it!

One thing I absolutely have to do before I turn 40: Go cage diving with Great White sharks in South Africa

Post-college/career plans: Still working on those...

If I could bring one thing from my hometown, it would be: The beach!

The most unusual thing the average person would not know about me is: I lived in a different country for six years.

Greatest invention of the last 100 years: Probably the iPhone

What is your greatest fear? Getting eaten by an alligator! There are a lot of those where I am from.

Most famous person I've met: Dennis Hopper

If you could have one superpower, what would it be? It would be a tough decision between flying and being able to breathe under water.

Follow Southern Miss Women's Volleyball:    

8/4/2014 - W. Volleyball

Volleyball to Hold 2014 Annual Fan Day

6/30/2014 - W. Volleyball

The 2014 Volleyball Schedule Set

05/27/2014 - W. Volleyball

Volleyball to Offer Variety of Camps

02/28/2014 - W. Volleyball

David Brown Joins Volleyball Staff

12/03/2013 - W. Volleyball

Berkley Promoted to Head Coach

FACEBOOK FANCRED INSTAGRAM PINTEREST TWITTER YOU TUBE