Skip to main content Skip to footer
Golden Eagle Indoor Teams Finish 6th and 7th at Conference USA Championship

Aaliyah Shareef finishes fourth in the triple jump

Aaliyah Shareef finishes fourth in the triple jump

Feb. 24, 2007

Complete Results

HOUSTON, Texas -- - The men's and women's indoor teams concluded their competition at the Conference USA Indoor Track and Field Champions, finishing sixth and seventh, respectively.

Houston claimed the men's title totaling 186 points, while Rice grabbed the women's title tallying 100 points. UH has now won four of the last five indoor titles on the men's side. This is Rice's first indoor track and field title as member of Conference USA.

Overall during the two-day event, 16 NCAA provisional qualifying marks were met and four NCAA automatic qualifying times were achieved. In addition, two C-USA Championship and Yeoman Field house records were achieved on the men's side, while six C-USA meet records and two facility records were established by the women.

Following the Cougars in second place on the men's side were the Miners of UTEP who scored 130 points and Rice took third with 90 points. Tulsa and Memphis tied for fourth with 66 points, while Southern Miss was sixth (64) and East Carolina finished in seventh (54).

UTEP also took second place on the women's side with a point total of 95.50. UH was a close third with 91 points and UAB took fourth with 87 points. Memphis finished in fifth with a total of 78 points and Tulsa took sixth with 54. SMU and Southern Miss finished with 37 points and tied for seventh. UCF (27.50) edged out Tulane (27) for ninth place, while East Carolina (22) and Marshall (6) rounded out the standings.

Aaliyah Shareef finished fourth in the women's triple jump when she jumped 12.20m (40-00.50) and Simona Costache finished in sixth with a mark of 11.92m (39-01.25), earning a combined eight points.

Ahmed Abdelzaher won bronze in the high jump with a mark of 2.11m (6-11.00).

Rodney Gray finished just behind Houston's LaMarcus Hunter in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.17.

The 400-meter dash was next on the docket and Cornelius Duncan of Southern Miss turned in an impressive time of 47.61 to take the title. His mark was also an NCAA provisional time.

Rascive Grant finished fifth in the men's 60-meter dash, posting a time of 6.88, grabbing four points for the Golden Eagles.

In one of the closer competitions of the day, Houston native Gloria Asumnu of Tulane won gold in the women's 60-meter dash and recorded the first NCAA automatic qualifying time of the meet when she finished the event in 7.22. Oludamola Osayomi of UTEP also hit the NCAA automatic mark, taking the silver in 7.27. UH's Ebonie Floyd took the bronze in 7.32, good for a provisional qualifying time. Tanika Liburd just missed the provisional mark with a time of 7.45.

Marvin Pinnock picked up five more points for the Eagles when he finished fourth in the 800-meter run with a time of 1:54.56.

The final individual sprint event of the day on the men's side was the 200-meter dash. Houston's Tremaine Smith pushed Houston's lead to 73 points over UTEP with another solid performance and a gold medal finish in 21.65. Rascive Grant (USM) was close behind in second finishing in 21.85 and Kevin Thompson of East Carolina took the bronze in 21.92.

Before the always exciting relays that conclude the two-day event, the men's and women's 3,000-meter races were run and Vincent Tanui finished sixth with a time of 8:30.62.

In the men's 4x400-meter relay, Houston solidified its team win with a first-place finishing time of 3:15.72. Southern Miss ran a strong race to finish in second (3:16.28), while UTEP came in third (3:16.28).

UAB won the crown in the women's 4x400-meter relay with a time of 3:44.75 to close out the meet. Houston followed close behind in second with a time of 3:44.81 and Tulane took third in 3:45.23. Southern Miss finished sixth with a time of 3:51.29.

Male Freshman of the Year LaMarcus Hunter, Houston
Female Freshman of the Year Quin'shundolyn McPhearson, Houston
Male Performance of the Meet Mickael Hanany, UTEP
Female Performance of the Meet Gloria Asumnu, Tulane
Male High Point Scorer of the Meet Mickael Hanany, UTEP
Female High Point Scorer of the Meet Gaelle Niare, SMU
Men's Indoor Coach of the Year Leroy Burrell, Houston
Women's Indoor Coach of the Year Jim Bevan, Rice

Online Store