Skip to main content Skip to footer

Holifield and Reynolds Named Second-Team All-Conference

May 9, 2017

IRVING, Texas - Conference USA has announced the 2017 softball all-conference teams and postseason superlative awards, as selected by a nomination and vote by the league's 12 head coaches. Southern Miss takes home two awards with Lauren Holifield and Samantha Reynolds.

Holifield ranked first on the team with a .333 overall batting average and hit a team best .354 in C-USA games. She also led the team with nine home runs and was eighth in C-USA. Ranked first on the squad in hits (54), runs (31), RBI (34) and total bases (86) while collecting 13 multi-hit games and ten multi-RBI games. Was second in C-USA in hits (28), second in RBI (19), second in plate appearances (91) and third in total bases (44). Holifield was the only Golden Eagle to have a multi-hit game against Alabama posting a .667 for the single game. On defense she ranked first in C-USA in assists (126).

Reynolds ended the season second on the team with a .326 batting average and second in C-USA games with a .328 average. She was third on the team in hits with 31 and third in runs with 22, she also tied for team high three triples. She drew a team high 25 walks and was 6-7 on stolen bases for a team high on-base percentage of .467. Went 2-for-2 with three runs against North Texas and notched triples against LA Tech and South Alabama.

2017 Conference USA Softball Specialty Awards
Pitcher of the Year: Jordan Dixon, Marshall
Player of the Year: Morgan Zerkle, Marshall
Freshman of the Year: Shannon Saile, FIU
Newcomer of the Year: Krystal De La Cruz, Louisiana Tech
Coach of the Year: Shonda Stanton, Marshall

First-Team All-Conference USA
C - Taylor McCord, Marshall
C - Morgan Harris, Middle Tennessee
IF - Haley Pace, Charlotte
IF - Stephanie Texeira, FIU
IF - Emily Lochten, Florida Atlantic
IF - Morgan Zerkle, Marshall
IF - Kelli Schkade, North Texas
OF - Jackie Schoff, FIU
OF - Morgan Turkoly, Louisiana Tech
OF - Precious Birdsong, Middle Tennessee
OF - Lindsey Stewart, UTSA
DP/Utility - Ali Galaz, Louisiana Tech
P - Shannon Saile, FIU
P - Krystal De La Cruz, Louisiana Tech
P - Jordan Dixon, Marshall

Second-Team All-Conference USA
C - Marilyn Rizzato, Louisiana Tech
C - Molli Garcia, UAB
IF - Ashley Leon, FIU
IF - Elicia D'Orazio, Marshall
IF - Lauren Holifield, Southern Miss
IF - Taylor Sargent, UTEP
IF - Cortney Smith, UTEP
OF - Delaney Rickey, Florida Atlantic
OF - Jazlyn Crowder, Louisiana Tech
OF - Eloise Tribolet, Marshall
OF - Samantha Reynolds, Southern Miss
OF - Bailee Baldwin, UTSA
OF - Celeste Loughman, UTSA
DP/Utility - Kaitlin Ryder, UTEP
DP/Utility - Jordan Mauch, WKU
P - Haley Wiseman, Charlotte
P - Amanda Wilson, Florida Atlantic
P - Preslee Gallaway, Louisiana Tech

Conference USA All-Freshman Team
Shannon Saile, FIU
Marilyn Rizzato, Louisiana Tech
Elizabeth DeShields, Marshall
Summer Burgess, Middle Tennessee
Lacy Gregory, North Texas
Lindsay Gregory, North Texas
Claire Blount, UAB
Destini England, UAB
Celeste Loughman, UTSA
Lindsey Stewart, UTSA
Kelsey Aikey, WKU

Online Store