Skip to main content Skip to footer

Women's Soccer Claim Three All-Conference Honors

Oct. 31, 2017

IRVING, Texas.Ola Akinniyi, Becky McMullan and Miah Zuazua from the Southern Miss soccer team earned All-Conference USA Honors Tuesday afternoon.

This is the first time in school history three players earned All-Conference honors in the same season. Akinniyi was named to the first team, McMullan to the second and Zuazua to the All-Freshman team.

Akinniyi earned All-Conference First team honors after leading the Golden Eagles in goals scored with seven as a defender. The Denton, Texas junior hadn’t scored in her first two seasons with Southern Miss but scored her first two goals in a 4-1 win against Grambling on Aug. 31.

Akinniyi’s speed allowed her to play a versatile role for the Golden Eagles making long runs from defense to the attack. Her two goals against Marshall sparked a 3-0 comeback and forced overtime on the road. Akinniyi scored four of the team’s last 10 goals.

Akinniyi is the first Golden Eagle to be placed on the All-First Team since Sarah McFadden made the team in 2007. In the last 10 years, the Golden Eagles have placed 10 players on an All-Conference team.

McMullan earned All-Conference Second team honors. McMullan was one of two players to start all 18 games for the Golden Eagles. McMullan scored five goals and totaled three assists earning 13 points this season.

After the opening weekend, McMullan landed the Golden Eagles only C-USA Player of the Week honor. McMullan was named the Offensive Player of the Week after her two goals against Nicholls. This award is McMullan’s second time being named to an All-Conference team. Last season, she was named to the Third team after scoring four goals and four assists.

The senior from Northern Ireland ends her career with 13 goals.

Zuazua earned C-USA All-Freshman team honors after starting all but one game and led the team in shots with 59 and was third in C-USA. Zuazua finished her freshman campaign with two goals and five assists. Her first collegiate goal came by a penalty kick to win the game against SFA.

This is the seventh time in school history a Golden Eagle has been named to the All-Freshman team and third time under El-Zare. Kierstin Bradley made the team in 2015 and Brittany Taylor in 2013.

“I’m not surprised to see them receive this recognition,” head coach Mohammed El-Zare said. “All three of them deserve it. They’re all hard-working and dedicated to the game. They’re fierce competitors who continuously seek to improve themselves on and off the field. I’m very proud of all of them.”

First Team
GK: Kelsey Daugherty, UAB

D: Jackie Stroud, ODU

D: Dominique James, North Texas

D: Ebba Blomqvist, Florida Atlantic

D: Ola Akinniyi, Southern Miss

MF: Samantha Chaiken, Rice

MF: Amy Brewer, UAB

MF: Nomvula Kgoale, LA Tech

F: Martha Thomas, Charlotte

F: Nia Stallings, Rice

F: Megan Greene, Charlotte

F: Annie Walker, Rice

Second Team

GK: Maya Hoyer, Rice

D: Haley Laque, LA Tech

D: Sydney Navarro, Middle Tennessee

D: Ashely Seltzer, Marshall

MF: Asta Arnadottir, Florida Atlantic

MF: Rachel Green, UAB

MF: Becky McMullan, Southern Miss

MF: Hannah Chua, WKU

F: Peyton DePriest, Middle Tennessee

F: Aaliyah Nolan, North Texas

F: Victoria Bohdan, UTEP

F: Jordan Sackaris, Marshall

Third Team

GK: Allison Leone, WKU

D: Lauren Crenshaw, UTEP

D: Louise Stephens, Rice

D: Audria Wood, UAB

D: Brittnye Lawson, North Texas

MF: Nicole Roseland, WKUU

MF: Rebecca Keane, Rice

MF: Kelley Suggs, Charlotte

MF: Cameron Cox, Middle Tennessee

F: Elisha Holmes, Florida Atlantic

F: Iris Ashterhof, ODU

F: Natalie Johnson, ODU

Freshman Team
Rebecca Keane, Rice

Miah Zuazua, Southern Miss

Peyton DePriest, Middle Tennessee

Victoria Bohdan, UTEP

Audria Wood, UAB

Carla Morich, ODU

Meredith Hamby, Charlotte

Gabi Clark, LA Tech

Abby Stapleton, Charlotte

Tally Bishop, WKU

Ashlyn Kitterman, Florida Atlantic

Regan Kommor, UAB

Rene Ross, Marshall

Sierra Moss, FIU

Offensive Player of the Year

Martha Thomas, F, Charlotte

Midfielder of the Year

Samantha Chaiken, MF, Rice

Defensive Player of the Year

Jackie Stroud, D, ODU

Goalkeeper of the Year

Maya Hoyer, Rice

Freshman of the Year

Peyton DePriest, F, Middle Tennessee

Coach of the Year

Nicky Adams, Rice

Online Store