Go Eagles!
Go Eagles!
 
Soccer Announces 2014 Schedule




June 30, 2014

2014 Soccer ScheduleGet Acrobat Reader

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - The University of Southern Mississippi soccer team and head coach Mohammed El-Zare announced the upcoming 2014 schedule. The 19-game schedule is highlighted by 10 home games at the Southern Miss Soccer Complex.

"Looking at our schedule, it is obvious we are improving the strength of our schedule by playing teams that have won their leagues and are in the top 100 in the RPI," El-Zare stated. "We play three nonconference teams that have won their leagues and went onto the NCAA Tournament so we have a pretty good nonconference schedule. In the Conference USA, we have at least six teams in our conference that are ranked in the top 100 (in RPI). That gives us a schedule that is competitive and that we are excited about."

Southern Miss opens the 2014 preseason campaign with an exhibition match on the road against Louisiana-Lafayette on Friday, Aug. 15.

The Golden Eagles open the 2014 regular season with three consecutive home games. USM takes on Nicholls State in the regular season opener on Friday, Aug. 22. Southern Miss continues the weekend with a game on Sunday, Aug. 24 with Mississippi Valley State.

The following week, the Golden Eagles conclude the three-game homestand against Jackson State in a match slated for Friday, Aug. 29. The Black and Gold conclude the weekend on the road against Mississippi State on Sunday evening in Starkville.

Southern Miss continues the season with a weekend road series against South Alabama (Friday, Sept. 5) and Southeastern Louisiana (Sunday, Sept. 7) before returning home to host Arkansas State on Sunday, Sept. 14.

The Black and Gold travel to Huntsville, Ala. for a game with Alabama A&M (Friday, Sept. 19) before hosting Southern on Sunday, Sept. 21 at the Southern Miss Soccer Complex.

The Golden Eagles open Conference USA play on the road. Southern Miss travels to Houston, Texas to take on Rice on Friday, Sept. 26 before closing out the weekend in Denton, Texas against North Texas on Sunday, Sept. 28.

Southern Miss hosts long-time rival UAB on Friday, Oct. 3 in the first C-USA home game of the season. The Golden Eagles conclude the weekend with a game against Middle Tennessee on the afternoon of Sunday, Oct. 5.

After traveling to Old Dominion (Friday, Oct. 10) and Charlotte (Sunday, Oct. 12), the Golden Eagles conclude the Conference USA home slate with three consecutive games. Southern Miss hosts Louisiana Tech in a Saturday tilt on Oct. 18. The following weekend, the Black and Gold welcome Marshall and Western Kentucky to the pitch in Hattiesburg. The games against the Herd and Hilltoppers will take place on Friday, Oct. 24 and Sunday, Oct. 26, respectively.

Southern Miss closes out the 2014 regular season with a road game at UTSA on Thursday, Oct. 30.

The Conference USA Tournament is set to begin on Monday, Nov. 3 in Charlotte, N.C. The tournament lasts the entire week with the Championship slated for Sunday, Nov. 9.

"We are always going to be a team that is going to work hard on the field and off the field," added El-Zare. "We are going to give our best every day and go into every game ready to play. We are very focused on the process of getting better and preparing for every game."

Follow Southern Miss Women's Soccer:    

10/30/2014 - W. Soccer

Soccer Season Ends at UTSA

10/26/2014 - W. Soccer

Soccer Concludes Home Schedule

10/24/2014 - W. Soccer

Soccer Falls to Marshall

10/17/2014 - W. Soccer

Soccer Hosts LA Tech on Senior Day

10/10/2014 - W. Soccer

Soccer Edged On Road by Old Dominion

10/09/2014 - W. Soccer

Soccer Continues C-USA Slate on Road

FACEBOOK FANCRED INSTAGRAM PINTEREST TWITTER YOU TUBE