Skip to main content Skip to footer

Women's Basketball Announces 2013-14 Schedule

Sept. 16, 2013

2013-14 Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss Head Women's Basketball Coach Joye Lee-McNelis today released the 2013-14 schedule that features 11 teams that advanced to postseason play last season, including four that played in the NCAA Tournament.

The schedule also includes 16 Conference USA games as well as non-conference tilts against West Alabama, South Alabama, Hampton, UALR, Florida Gulf Coast, Central Arkansas, Mississippi State, Grambling, UNO, Nicholls State and William Carey. Southern Miss plays host to its annual Lady Eagle Classic that includes Mississippi Valley State, Florida A&M and Eastern Kentucky.

"Our 2013-14 schedule presents many challenges for the Lady Eagles," McNelis said. "We are excited about this opportunity as we face 11 teams that played in postseason in 2012-13. Coming into Reed Green Coliseum will be UALR who is one of the premiere teams in the Sun Belt. We will also play at Mississippi State which will be a challenge as well. Florida Gulf Coast is a perennial NCAA team and will also visit Reed Green."

The Lady Eagles open the regular season, Nov. 8, at home against West Alabama followed by South Alabama (Nov. 12) before hitting the road for a trip to Hampton (Nov. 16), then return home to face UALR (Nov. 19) and Florida Gulf Coast (Nov. 23) before hosting the Lady Eagle Classic, Nov. 29-30.

Southern Miss begins the month of December on the road with games at Central Arkansas (Dec. 7) and at in-state rival Mississippi State (Dec. 14). The Lady Eagles return to Reed Green Coliseum to host three straight games to close out the month of December with Grambling (Dec. 18), UNO (Dec. 21) and Nicholls State (Dec. 29). Southern Miss will host William Carey in its final non-conference game on Jan. 4.

"New Conference USA brings many, many challenges and tough foes into Reed Green," McNelis said. "Middle Tennessee has been a consistent in the NCAA Tournament the past several years. Louisiana Tech and Old Dominion have both won national championships. Seven teams from this new league played in postseason play last year. We are excited about the opportunity to be able to compete in the new league and will rise as one of the better leagues in the country."

Conference USA will consist of one division comprised of 16 teams (Charlotte, East Carolina, FIU, Florida Atlantic, Louisiana Tech, Marshall, Middle Tennessee, North Texas, Old Dominion, Rice, Southern Miss, Tulane, Tulsa, UAB, UTEP, UTSA). Teams play all 15 members once, as well as a home-and-home series against one "rival" team.

The Lady Eagles open the C-USA schedule on the road at Louisiana Tech (Jan. 8) before returning home to host UTSA and Old Dominion (Jan. 15). Southern Miss then travels to Tulane (Jan. 18) and UTEP (Jan. 22) before returning home to host East Carolina (Jan. 25) and Middle Tennessee (Jan. 29).

Rounding out the remaining C-USA slate, the Lady Eagles travel to Rice (Feb. 1), then Charlotte (Feb. 8). Southern Miss then hosts Marshall (Feb. 12) and Tulsa (Feb. 15) before returning to the road for games at FIU (Feb. 19) and Florida Atlantic (Feb. 22). The Lady Eagles will host UAB (Feb. 26) and Tulane (Mar. 24) before concluding on the road at North Texas (Mar. 5). The Conference USA Tournament is scheduled for Mar. 11-15 with UTEP serving as the host.

The complete schedule follows: Nov. 8, West Alabama; 12, South Alabama; 16, at Hampton; 19, UALR; 23, Florida Gulf Coast; 29-30, Southern Miss Thanksgiving Classic; Dec. 7, at Central Arkansas; 14, at Mississippi State; 18, Grambling; 21, UNO; 29, Nicholls State; Jan. 4, William Carey; 8, at Louisiana Tech; 11, UTSA; 15, Old Dominion; 18, at Tulane; 22, at UTEP; 25, East Carolina; 29, Middle Tennessee; Feb. 1, at Rice; 8, Charlotte; 12, Marshall; 15, Tulsa; 19, at FIU; 22, at Florida Atlantic; 26, UAB; Mar. 1, Tulane; 5, at North Texas; 11-15, Conference USA Tournament, El Paso, Texas.

Online Store