Skip to main content Skip to footer

Southern Miss Concludes First-Annual Talon Awards

May 3, 2017

Photo Gallery

HATTIESBURG, Miss. -- The Southern Miss athletics department and Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) teamed up to hold the inaugural Talon Awards on Tuesday night in the Thad Cochran Center on campus.

Student-athletes from every sport dressed their best and enjoyed fine dining while honoring their peers for their athletic and academic excellence throughout the year.

Overall Awards

Male Athlete of the Year - Ito Smith (football, Mobile, Ala.)
Female Athlete of the Year - Brittanny Dinkins (basketball, Miami, Fla.)
Male Newcomer of the Year - Allenzae Staggers (football, Woodville, Miss.)
Female Newcomer of the Year - Nichada Satasuk (golf, Chiangmai, Thailand)
Male Freshman of the Year - Matt Wallner (baseball, Forest Lake, Minn.)
Female Freshman of the Year - Cat Repsher (volleyball, Carl Junction, Mo.)
SAAC Team Service Award - Baseball (962 hours)
SAAC Individual Service Award - Sarah Bell (volleyball, San Antonio, Texas)

Online Store

More Headlines

More Headlines