Skip to main content Skip to footer

Men's Golf Opens 2012-13 Season Hosting 10th Annual Sam H. Hall Intercollegiate

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss opens the 2012-13 men's golf fall season when it hosts the 10th annual Sam H. Hall Intercollegiate, Monday and Tuesday at Hattiesburg Country Club.

The tournament is open to the public. On Tuesday, Southern Miss is going to honor September 11 by having active military members on the 18th hole that will hold the flag for each group so it never touches the ground.

Southern Miss will be joined in the tournament by No. 58 Ole Miss, No. 68, Louisiana-Lafayette, No. 70 Southeastern Louisiana, No. 71 Mississippi State, No. 91 Sam Houston State and No. 95 South Alabama. Arkansas-Little Rock, Arkansas State, Louisiana-Monroe, Louisiana Tech, McNeese State, Rice, Samford and UT-San Antonio are also participating.

The event is named for former Southern Miss golfer and coach, Sam Hall, who lettered from 1955 to 1958, and later coached the program on two separate occasions. His last stint as coach was a ten-year stint from 1990-2000. Hall has distinguished himself on the golf course as a player by winning more than 300 tournaments as an amateur.

The Hattiesburg Country Club has one of the best Championship Golf Courses in the south, made even better by a recent renovation. Since its establishment in 1959, the course has hosted many prominent and nationally recognized golf events. The tree lined par 72 course measures 6902 from the Tour Tees with a slope rating of 131.

Southern Miss returns six players from last year's squad, while welcoming three newcomers. Juniors Zach Estep and Kevin Brady will lead the squad. Last year, Estep had a stroke average of 73.9 with one top five, two top ten and three top 20 finishes. Brady finished the year with a 74.8 stroke average, earning one top ten and two top 20 finishes.

The tournament begins Monday with a shotgun start at 8:00 a.m. The teams will play 36 holes on Monday, followed by the final 18 on Tuesday.

Fan can follow all the action live on

Southern Miss Lineup
1. Kevin Brady
2. Zach Estep
3. Drew Kirby
4. Casey Fernandez
5. Michael Perez
Individual - Jared Smith
Individual - Tyler Peggs
Individual - Trent Hillis

Online Store