Skip to main content Skip to footer

Eleven Golden Eagles Named All C-USA

Dec. 6, 2011

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - The 2011 Conference USA champion Southern Miss football team had 11 different players earn all-league honors in a vote by the league's head coaches and released by the commissioner's office in Irving, Texas, Tuesday.

The Golden Eagles, which boast an 11-2 record this season, had four different players make the first and second teams, while three other Southern Miss individuals collected All-Freshman honors.

Senior offensive lineman Lamar Holmes (Gastonia, N.C.), who helped lead the Golden Eagles to over 6,000 total yards for the first time in school history, was the lone first-team offensive representative for the team. On defense, senior defensive lineman Cordarro Law (Whitfield, Ala.) posted 17.5 tackles for loss and a team-high 7.5 sacks for the Golden Eagles, while senior defensive back Marquese Wheaton (Phoenix, Ariz.) registered three touchdowns, two interceptions and one blocked field goal return, in consecutive games to go along with 55 tackles to round out the first-team picks on that side of the ball.

Junior Tracey Lampley (Waynesboro, Miss.) was the lone first-team special teams recipient at punt returner as he tallied 29 returns for a 12.1 per punt average and one touchdown.

On the second team, senior quarterback Austin Davis (Meridian, Miss.) garnered the accolade along with Tulsa quarterback G.J. Kinne. Junior offensive lineman Joe Duhon (Lake Charles, La.) and senior offensive lineman Jason Weaver (New Orleans, La.) rounded out the second-team Golden Eagle offensive selections.

While Southern Miss did not have any defensive selections on the second team, senior Danny Hrapmann (New Orleans, La.) gained an honor for that squad at special teams.

Running back Jamal Woodyard (Fairhope, Ala.), along with defensive lineman Rakeem Nunez (Phenix City, Ala.) and defensive back Tray Becton-Martin (Eads, Tenn.) collected All-Freshman nods.

Seven Golden Eagles, wide receivers Ryan Balentine (Sr., Killeen, Texas), Kelvin Bolden (Sr., Ocean Springs, Miss.) and Lampley were honorable mention players on offense, while linebackers Jamie Collins (Jr., McCall Creek, Miss.) and Ronnie Thornton (Sr., Miami, Fla.) and defensive back Kendrick Presley (Sr., Kosciusko, Miss.) were defensive selections. Long snapper Creighton Nelms (Sr., Corinth, Miss.) earned special team honorable mention.

The Golden Eagles will play in their 10th consecutive bowl game later this month when they travel to the Sheraton Hawai'i Bowl to face WAC member Nevada (7-5) on Christmas Eve. The game will take place at 7 p.m., CT and be broadcast on the Southern Miss IMG Sports Network and as well as telecast on ESPN.

All-Conference USA Teams

First Team
Offense QB - Case Keenum, Sr., Houston
RB - Zach Line, Jr., SMU
RB - Charles Sims, So., Houston
OL - Clint Anderson, Sr., Tulsa
OL - Kelvin Beachum, Sr., SMU
OL - Lamar Holmes, Sr., Southern Miss
OL - Matt McCants, Sr., UAB
OL - Chris Thompson, Sr., Houston
TE - Justin Johnson, Sr., Houston
WR - Cole Beasley, Sr., SMU
WR - Patrick Edwards, Sr., Houston
WR - Darius Johnson, Jr., SMU

DL - Vinny Curry, Sr., Marshall
DL - Tyrunn Walker, Sr., Tulsa
DL - Cordarro Law, Sr., Southern Miss
DL - Taylor Thompson, Sr., SMU
LB - Curnelius Arnick, Sr., Tulsa
LB - Sammy Brown, Sr., Houston
LB - Trent Mackey, Jr., Tulane
DB - Omar Brown, Sr., Marshall
DB - Richard Crawford, Sr., SMU
DB - Marquese Wheaton, Sr., Southern Miss
DB - Josh Robinson, Jr., UCF

Special Teams
K - Kevin Fitzpatrick, Sr., Tulsa
P - Kyle Martens, Sr., Rice
KR - Rannell Hall, Fr., UCF
PR - Tracey Lampley, Sr., Southern Miss
LS - Matt Camilli, Sr., UTEP

Second Team
QB - Austin Davis, Sr., Southern Miss
QB - G.J. Kinne, Sr., Tulsa
RB - Orleans Darkwa, So., Tulane
RB - Ja'Terian Douglas, So., Tulsa
OL - Jacoby Ashworth, Jr., Houston
OL - Joe Duhon, Jr., Southern Miss
OL - Ron Leary, Sr., Memphis
OL - Nick Pieschel, Sr., UCF
OL - Jason Weaver, Sr., Southern Miss
TE - Clay Sears, Sr., Tulsa
WR-Tyron Carrier, Sr., Houston
WR-Willie Carter, Jr., Tulsa
WR-Lance Lewis, Sr., East Carolina

DL - Marquis Frazier, Sr., SMU
DL - Dezman Moses, Sr., Tulane
DL - Dontari Poe, Jr., Memphis
DL - Scott Solomon, Sr., Rice
LB - Ja'Gared Davis, Sr., SMU
LB - Marcus McGraw, Sr., Houston
LB - Taylor Reed, Jr., SMU
DB - Jamie Bender, Sr., UAB
DB - Emanuel Davis, Jr., East Carolina
DB - D.J. Hayden, Jr., Houston
DB - Dexter McCoil, Jr., Tulsa

Special Teams
K - Danny Hrapmann, Sr., Southern Miss
P - Ian Campbell, Jr., UTEP
KR - Tyron Carrier, Sr., Houston
PR - Patrick Edwards, Sr., Houston
LS - Charley Hughlett, Sr., UCF

2011 C-USA Football All-Freshman Team
QB - Blake Bortles, UCF
RB - Travon Van, Marshall
RB - Jamal Woodyard, Southern Miss
OL - Rowdy Harper, Houston
OL - Chris Jasperse, Marshall
OL - Drew Carroll, Rice
OL - Torrian Wilson, UCF
OL - Jarel Watkins, UTEP
TE - Eric Tomlinson, UTEP
WR - Justin Hardy, East Carolina
WR - J.J. Worton, UCF

DL - Eric Braswell, Houston
DL - Rakeem Nunez, Southern Miss
DL - Michael Pierce, Tulane
DL - Brentom Todd, Tulsa
LB - Jeremy Grove, East Carolina
LB - Derrick Mathews, Houston
LB - Troy Gray, UCF
DB - Bryce Callahan, Rice
DB - Tray Becton-Martin, Southern Miss
DB - Kwame Sexton, Tulsa
DBvClayton Geathers, UCF

Special Teams
K - Ty Long, UAB
P - Cole Way, Tulsa
KR - Rannell Hall, UCF
PR - Mario Hull, Rice

Online Store