Skip to main content Skip to footer

Fletcher Named Finalist for 2007 Cellular South Conerly Trophy

Nov. 20, 2007

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss sophomore running back Damion Fletcher (Biloxi, Miss.) was named one of three finalists for the 2007 Cellular South Conerly Trophy. The announcement was made today at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in Jackson.

The award represents the state of Mississippi's most prestigious individual football honor by recognizing the state's top player. The recipient will be announced at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum Tuesday November 27, 2007. Sixty-one media voters representing radio, television and print outlets throughout the state determine the finalists and the eventual recipient of the Cellular South Conerly Trophy in two rounds of voting.

This is the second-straight year that Fletcher earned a finalist spot for the award. He now represents the school as the second player to be a finalist twice, along with Rod Davis in 2002 and 2003. Davis won the award in 2002 and Michael Boley captured the honor in 2004. It marks the only two times the school has captured the trophy.

Fletcher, one of only three Southern Miss players to ever rush for consecutive 1,000-yard seasons, has tallied 1,298 yards in 11 games this season with 14 touchdowns on 239 carries. He has seven of his 14 career 100-yard rushing games this season, including a career-best 211 yards against UTEP with three touchdowns last weekend.

He currently ranks No. 5 on the Golden Eagles' career rushing yards list with 2,686. That rushing total is also the highest for a Southern Miss running back in back-to-back seasons. He also holds the distinction of being one of only eight Golden Eagles to rush for more than 2,500 yards in their career.

Fletcher and the Golden Eagles play their final regular season game at home this weekend when they entertain Arkansas State at 2 p.m., at The Rock. Tickets are available by calling 1-800-844-TICK or via the internet at

The Golden Eagle is joined by Mississippi State players Titus Brown, a senior defensive lineman from Tuscaloosa, Ala., and Anthony Dixon, a sophomore running back from Terry, Miss., as the other two finalists.

Brown, a three-year letterman who has garnered preseason All-SEC honors, started all 11 games for the Bulldogs this season and leads the team in tackles for loss with 12, sacks with eight and quarterback hurries with 14. He ranks eighth on the MSU career sacks list.

Dixon has rushed for 954 yards for the Bulldogs this season and has 14 touchdowns on 252 rushing attempts.

Southern Miss has had a finalist nine times in the 12-year history of the event, including Marchant Kenney (1996), Patrick Surtain (1997), Sherrod Gideon (1998), Adalius Thomas (1999), Davis (2002-2003), Boley (2004) and Fletcher (2006-2007).

Other players receiving votes for the Conerly Trophy are listed alphabetically and include Seth Adams (UM), Jake Allen (MC), Garrett Dewitt (DSU), Michael Eubanks (DSU), BenJarvus Green-Ellis (UM), Greg Hardy (UM), Juan Joseph (Millsaps), Gerald McRath (USM), Jimmy Oliver (JSU), Ashlee Palmer (UM), Derek Pegues (MSU), Adam Shaffer (MC), Mike Wallace (UM) and, Dedrick Wilson (DSU).

For the first time, the Museum is offering a $25 student ticket for individuals under 17. Adult tickets are $75. For ticket information, contact the Museum at 1-800-280-FAME (3263) or purchase them online at All proceeds benefit the private non-profit Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum.

Online Store