Skip to main content Skip to footer

Three Football Players Earn Preseason C-USA Nods

Joe Duhon

July 23, 2012

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss senior wide receiver Tracy Lampley has been chosen the Conference USA Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year, while two other Golden Eagles earned mention to the preseason team released Monday by the league office.

The voting was done by the league's 12 coaches.

Lampley, from Waynesboro, Miss., earned preseason All-punt returner honors for specialists while senior Joe Duhon (Lake Charles, La.) garnered a nod on the offensive line and senior defensive lineman Jamie Collins (McCall Creek, Miss.) collected defensive honors.

Lampley led Conference USA in punt returns with an 11.5 yard average with a touchdown. He has a chance to become the first Southern Miss player this fall to top the 1,000-yard career mark in the categories of rushing, receiving, kick returns and punt returns.

Duhon, a two-time all-league performer, has started in 24 games, including a consecutive streak of 19 to headline a solid returning corps on the offensive line. He is one of four returning seniors in a group that led Conference USA in rushing with 2,872 yards.

As for Collins, he returns as the top Golden Eagle tackler from a year ago with 98 stops, including 19.5 tackles for loss. Collins has been named to numerous preseason watch lists including the Bednarik, the Bronko Nagurski, Butkus and Rotary Lombardi awards.

The Golden Eagles open the 2012 season Sept. 1, at Nebraska. Game time is set for 2:30 p.m., CT.

Season tickets are still available and can be purchased by going online at, by calling 1-800-844-TICK (8425) or visiting the Pat Ferlise Center (corner of Black and Gold Blvd. and 4th Street), Monday through Friday from 8 a.m., until 5 p.m.

Golden Eagle players are expected to report Aug. 2, will fall camp starting the following day.

2012 C-USA Football Coaches Preseason Awards

Offensive Player of the Year
Zach Line, Sr., RB, SMU

Defensive Player of the Year
Trent Mackey, Sr., LB, Tulane

Special Teams Player of the Year
Tracy Lampley, Sr., KR/PR, Southern Miss

First Team Offense
QB Nick Lamaison, Sr., UTEP
RB Charles Sims, Jr., Houston
RB Zach Line, Sr., SMU
OL Jordan Devey, Sr., Memphis
OL Joe Duhon, Sr., Southern Miss
OL Kevin Forsch, Jr., Houston
OL Theo Goins, Sr., UCF
OL Chris Hubbard, Sr., UAB
OL Will Simmons, Jr., East Carolina
WR Willie Carter, Jr., Tulsa
WR Aaron Dobson, Sr., Marshall
WR Darius Johnson, Sr., SMU
TE Luke Willson, Sr., Rice

First Team Defense
DL Michael Brooks, Sr., East Carolina
DL Jamie Collins, Sr., Southern Miss
DL Victor Gray, Jr., UCF
DL Margus Hunt, Sr., SMU
LB Jeremy Grove, So., East Carolina
LB Trent Mackey, Sr., Tulane
LB Taylor Reed, Sr., SMU
DB Bryce Callahan, So., Rice
DB D.J. Hayden, Sr., Houston
DB Kemal Ishmael, Sr., UCF
DB Dexter McCoil, Sr., Tulsa

First Team Special Teams
K Chris Boswell, Jr., Rice
P Ian Campbell, Sr., UTEP
KR Rannell Hall, So., UCF
PR Tracy Lampley, Sr., Southern Miss

Online Store