Skip to main content Skip to footer

C-USA AND Sinclair Broadcast Group Reach Multi-Year Pact

July 17, 2014

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Conference USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced today that the conference has reached an agreement with Sinclair Broadcast Group, among the nation's largest television broadcasting companies, to produce and distribute 100 events each of the next two years including six Southern Miss football games this fall.

Sinclair owns and operates, programs and provides sales services to 162 television stations in 78 markets, reaching approximately 40 percent of U.S. television households. It includes FOX, ABC, CBS, MyTV, CW, NBC, Univision and Azteca affiliates. The agreement encompasses an extensive slate of live, local sporting events, including football, basketball, soccer and other sports with the opening of this year's college football season. A total of 30 C-USA football games will be televised on Sinclair stations this fall.

These exclusive games will be broadcast across different regions of the country. Additional content will also be televised, such as the "C-USA Showcase" - the league's 30-minute weekly program that offers a number of highlights and features about the conference.

"We are extremely pleased to be able to partner with such a great broadcaster," Banowsky said. "This alliance provides new and differentiated exposure, which will benefit our member institutions, athletic programs, students, alumni, and communities. It certainly complements the existing arrangements we have on the FOX and CBS cable platforms."

Conference USA will be part of the newly launched American Sports Network (ASN), a collegiate sports initiative that will air on a number of Sinclair's broadcast television stations. ASN will be led by Sinclair Network Chief Operating Officer Doron Gorshein.

"Broadcasters serve and are closely connected to their communities, of which the colleges and universities are an integral part," commented Gorshein. "We believe there is significant value and consumer appeal for live sporting events from these important institutions, and we can offer expanded distribution through our broadcast platforms as well as on potential new platforms, deepening our connection to our communities. We're proud to be working with Conference USA on this initiative, which combines compelling local sports and related content, with enhanced localism, diversity and positive social purpose."

The conference's footprint is concentrated in 10 states with 14 member schools, including Charlotte, FIU, Florida Atlantic, Louisiana Tech, Marshall, Middle Tennessee, North Texas, Old Dominion, Rice, Southern Miss, UAB, UTEP, UTSA and WKU.

In addition to Sinclair, Conference USA has national television partnerships with Fox Media Group, CBS Sports Network and ESPN. C-USA institutions are in eight of the Top 45 media markets, and four of the Top 25. Additionally, the C-USA Digital Network offers live streaming of competition, press conferences and special events as well as pre-produced stories and promotional pieces. C-USA home markets will include more than 13.4 million TV households - a 30 percent increase to the 10.1 million homes reached just two years ago.

The six Southern Miss games that will be broadcast as part of the ASN will include home games against Appalachian State (Sept. 20), Louisiana Tech (Oct. 25), Marshall (Nov. 8) and UAB (Nov. 29), while its road games against Middle Tennessee (Sept. 27) and North Texas (Oct. 18) will be broadcast.

Conference USA also announced a game time change for the Golden Eagles' home game against Rice on Sept. 27. Southern Miss and the Owls will now start at 6 p.m., and will still be broadcast on Fox College Sports.

2014 Southern Miss Football Schedule
Date OpponentTime
Sat., Aug. 30 at Mississippi State (SEC) 6:30 pm
Sat., Sept. 6 Alcorn StateTBA
Sat., Sept. 13 at Alabama (ESPN2)5 pm
Sat., Sept. 20 Appalachian State (ASN)6 pm
Sat., Sept. 27 Rice* (FCS)6 pm
Sat., Oct. 4 at Middle Tennessee* (ASN) 11 am
Sat., Oct. 18 at North Texas* (ASN) 6 pm
Sat., Oct. 25 Louisiana Tech* (ASN) 2:30 pm
Sat., Nov. 1 at UTEP* (FCS) 7 pm
Sat., Nov. 8 Marshall* (ASN) 6 pm
Thu., Nov. 13 at UTSA* (CBS SN) 7 pm
Sat., Nov. 29 UAB* (ASN)2:30 pm
* Conference USA game; All Times Central; Dates and times subject to change

Conference USA (C-USA) is a NCAA Division I Conference based in Irving, Texas. Its membership consists of 14 schools - University of North Carolina at Charlotte, FIU (Florida International University) Florida Atlantic University, Louisiana Tech University, Marshall University, Middle Tennessee State University, University of North Texas, Old Dominion University, Rice University, University of Southern Mississippi, UAB (University of Alabama at Birmingham), UTEP (University of Texas at El Paso), UTSA (University of Texas at San Antonio) and WKU (Western Kentucky University). This realignment was officially formed on July 1, 2014, and the Conference is celebrating its 20th anniversary. C-USA offers 19 sports total, nine sports for men (baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, soccer, tennis, and indoor and outdoor track and field) and 10 for women (basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, swimming and diving, tennis, indoor and outdoor track and field, and volleyball). More information can be found at

Sinclair Broadcast Group, Inc. is the largest and one of the most diversified television broadcasting companies with affiliations with all the major networks. Sinclair's television group will reach approximately 38.9 percent of U.S. television households, including pending transactions. Sinclair regularly uses its website as a key source of Company information which can be accessed at

Online Store