Skip to main content Skip to footer

Jeremy Wise Named Preseason High-Major Honorable Mention All-American

Oct. 23, 2008

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss junior Jeremy Wise earned Preseason High Major Honorable Mention All-American honors in a vote by staff writers, announced Thursday.

Wise returns this season after leading the Golden Eagles last year with 18.7 points and 4.2 assists, en route to placing second on the sophomore scoring list with 617 points. He was also the first Golden Eagle to record 500 points in back-to-back seasons since Clarence Weatherspoon from 1989 to 1992.

Wise also became the second fastest player in Southern Miss history to reach 1,000 career points.

The Jackson, Miss. native was the only player to start all 33 games for the Golden Eagles this season, and scored in double-figures in 31 of 33 games, including the last 15. The All-Conference USA performer also scored 20-plus points in 14 games, including a career-high 33 at Alabama on November 23.

VCU's Eric Maynor was named the Preseason High Major Player of the Year. Joining him on the first team is Jeremy Pargo of Gonzaga, UAB's Robert Vaden, Lee Cummard of BYU and Utah's Luke Nevill.

The second team consists of Temple's Dionte Christmas, UTEP's Stefon Jackson, Austin Daye of Gonzaga, Xavier's Derrick Brown and Ahmad Nivins of St. Joseph's.

On the third team are P'Allen Stinnett of Creighton, Wink Adams of UNLV, Drake's Josh Young, Chris Wright of Dayton and Jerome Jordan of Tulsa.

Joining Wise on the Honorable Mention squad was Lavoy Allen (Temple), Matt Bouldin (Gonzaga), Jonathan Cox (Drake), Osiris Eldridge (Illinois State), Brandon Ewing (Wyoming), Steven Gray (Gonzaga), Ricky Harris (UMass), Josh Heytvelt (Gonzaga), Matt Janning (Northeastern), Charles Jenkins (Hofstra), Armon Johnson (Nevada), Bryan Mullins (Southern Illinois), Jonathan Tavernari (BYU), Jermaine Taylor (Central Florida), Ben Uzoh (Tulsa), Lorenzo Wade (San Diego State) and Gary Wilkinson (Utah State). Preseason High-Major Player of the Year: Eric Maynor (VCU) First Team High-Major All-America

Jeremy PargoGonzagaSRG
Robert VadenUABSRG
Eric MaynorVCUSRG
Lee CummardBYUSRG/F
Luke NevillUtahSRC Second Team High-Major All-America

Dionte ChristmasTempleSRG
Stefon JacksonUTEPSRG
Austin DayeGonzagaSOF
Derrick BrownXavierJRF
Ahmad NivinsSt. Joseph'sSRF Third Team High-Major All-America

P'Allen StinnettCreightonSOG
Josh YoungDrakeJRG
Chris WrightDaytonSOF
Jerome JordanTulsaJRC Honorable Mention High-Major All-American

Lavoy AllenTempleSOF
Matt BouldinGonzagaJRG
Jonathan CoxDrakeSRF
Osiris EldridgeIllinois StJRG
Brandon EwingWyomingSRG
Steven GrayGonzagaSOG
Ricky HarrisUMASSJRG
Josh HeytveltGonzagaSRF
Matt JanningNortheasternJRG
Charles JenkinsHofstraSOG
Armon JohnsonNevadaSOG
Bryan MullinsSouthern IllinoisSRG
Jonathan TavernariBYUJRF
Jermaine TaylorUCFSRG
Ben UzohTulsaJRG
Lorenzo WadeSan Diego StSRF
Gary WilkinsonUtah StateSRF
Jeremy WiseSouthern MissJRG
  Email this article   Printer-friendly format

Online Store