Skip to main content Skip to footer

Basketball Awards Announced at Postseason Banquet Wednesday Night

April 10, 2014

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - The Southern Miss men's and women's basketball programs handed out their team's respective postseason awards at a banquet Wednesday night held here at the Southern Oaks House and Gardens.

The men's and women's basketball programs both enjoyed incredible success this season as they combined to capture 56 wins between the two programs. The men's squad captured a school-record tying 29 victories, winning the C-USA regular season championship and reaching the quarterfinals of the NIT for the second-straight year.

The women's team won 27 games, tying a school record. They also finished second in C-USA during the regular season and advanced to the C-USA Tournament finals. The Lady Eagles made it to the postseason for the first time since the 2007-08 season and reached the second round of the WNIT.

The men's awards included - senior Neil Watson winning the Playmaker Award, while senior Jerrold Brooks collected the Lockdown Defender Award. Senior Michael Craig collected the Best Rebounder Award and senior Daveon Boardingham took home the Golden Eagle Pride Award.

The Most Improved Award went to redshirt freshman Matt Bingaya.

For the Lady Eagles, senior Jamierra Faulkner captured the Most Outstanding and Offensive Player of the Year Awards, while freshman Alex Coyne won the Lady Eagle Award.

Junior Markia Nix took home the Most Improved Award, while sophomore Jerontay Clemons won the Defensive Player of the Year Award.

Both basketball coaches, Donnie Tyndall and Joye Lee-McNelis, also spoke at the event.

Online Store