Skip to main content Skip to footer

Dwayne Davis Named Finalist for C Spire Howell Trophy

Dwayne Davis

March 4, 2013

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss senior guard Dwayne Davis was named one of three finalists for the 2013 C Spire Howell Trophy, awarded annually to the best college basketball player in Mississippi.

Davis will be joined by Marshall Henderson and Murphy Holloway of Ole Miss as the other two finalists. He becomes just the third Golden Eagle to be named a finalist in the nine-year history of the award, joining Gary Flowers, who won the award in 2011, and Neil Watson last year.

The Philadelphia, Pa., native leads the team in points with 14.5 per game, which is 12th in Conference USA. Davis is hitting 47.9-percent from the floor. He is also ninth in the conference in free throw percentage (.788) and 10th in three-point field goal percentage (.404).

The senior guard has scored in double-figures in 20 games this year. He has led the team in scoring eight times and rebounds and assists three times apiece. He has scored at least 20 points six times this year.

The winner of the 2013 Howell Trophy will be announced Monday, March 11, 2013, in luncheon ceremonies at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame in Jackson beginning at 11:30 am.

All seating is $35 and includes lunch. For ticket information, contact the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame at 601-982-8264.

Online Store