Skip to main content Skip to footer

Southern Miss to Host 2014 C-USA Baseball Championship

Oct. 10, 2013

2014 C-USA Baseball Tournament

IRVING, Texas - The 2014 Conference USA Baseball Championship will be held at Pete Taylor Park on the campus of the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg, Miss. The eight-team tournament will be held May 21-25 and marks the return of the championship to Southern Miss for the first time since 2009 and the fourth time in league history.

Southern Miss was chosen as the host site following a bid process from the schools and a vote of the league's Athletics Directors. The recommendation is pending final approval from the conference's Board of Directors later this month.

Southern Miss hosted the inaugural Conference USA Baseball Championship in 1996 and welcomed the event again in 2005 and 2009. With hosting the tournament for the fourth time in the league's 19 years, Pete Taylor Park has been the championship site more than any other facility.

The 2014 Conference USA Championship will feature the top eight finishers in regular-season league play. Those eight teams will see a return to the double-elimination format that the conference employed from 1996-2009. The championship game will take place on Sunday, May 25, and be televised by CBS Sports Network. Rice is the defending tournament champion.

Conference USA will field 13 baseball teams for the 2014 season: Charlotte, East Carolina, FIU, Florida Atlantic, Louisiana Tech, Marshall, Middle Tennessee, Old Dominion, Rice, Southern Miss, Tulane, UAB and UTSA. The league's 19th season begins Friday, February 14.

Online Store