Skip to main content Skip to footer

Fowler Named Semifinalist for Olson 'Breakout Player' Award

Chase Fowler

May 22, 2013

OMAHA, Neb. - Southern Miss catcher Chase Fowler had his name added to a second list in as many days as he earned a spot on the semifinalists' list the inaugural Gregg Olson Award, presented by Toolshed Sports, Collegiate Baseball Lineup announced on Wednesday.

Through hard work, strength of mind and determination forty-six players have made the list to honor college baseball's "Breakout Player of the Year".

Fowler was also named to the Conference USA All-First Team squad in a release from the conference yesterday. It was Fowler's first selection as an all-conference performer at catcher, after posting a .333 batting average with nine doubles, a team-best three triples, a home run and 28 runs batted in. Defensively, Fowler has been the driving force behind the plate in which he has started in 49 games there. He has posted a .985 fielding percentage, allowed just three passed balls and thrown out 55 percent of his potential base stealers (22-of-40).

The award is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.

Initial nominations were made by sports information contacts and the semifinalists were determined by made by an independent panel. A list of finalists is scheduled to be announced on Monday, June 3rd in conjunction with the conclusion of NCAA Regional play. The winner of the 2013 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25/26, 2013 .

Gregg Olson Award Semifinalists
(For more information on the candidates visit or
Gabe AguilarNew Mexico
Eli AndersonNorthern Illinois
Scott BakerBall State
Trevor BelicekTexas A&M Corpus Christi
Buddy BordenUNLV
Garrett BoulwareClemson
Devin BurkeVirginia Tech
Chad CarrollJames Madison
Mike ConnollyMaine
Trace DempseyOhio State
Christian DiazMiami FL
Kerry DoaneEast Tennessee State
Christiaan DurdallerSamford
Joey FalconeColumbia
Austin FisherKansas State
Mike FordPrinceton
Chase FowlerSouthern Miss
Brent GrahamCampbell
Tyler GroggToledo
Sean HagenEastern Kentucky
Max HomickSan Diego
Ryan HuckWestern Kentucky
Joe JacksonThe Citadel
Ryan KeeleNebraska-Omaha
Ryan LaGrangeUNC Wilmington
Bobby LecountNew Mexico State
TreyMasekTexas Tech
Jeff McKenzieCSU Bakersfield
Harrison MusgraveWest Virginia
Mike PapiVirginia
Justin ParrIllinois
Austin PerezStetson
Jake PeterCreighton
Brandon PetersonWichita State
Chad PrainGeorgia State
Austin PruittHouston
Michael RennerNorth Florida
Steven Shelinsky Jr.Pitt
Matt ShortallUT Arlington
Scott SitzFlorida Sate
Taylor SparksUC Irvine
Cody StubbsNorth Carolina
Michael SuchyFlorida Gulf Coast
Mike TauchmanBradley
Ryan ThompsonCampbell
Ben VerlanderOld Dominion

Online Store