Skip to main content Skip to footer

Fowler Named Johnny Bench Award Semifinalist

Chase Fowler

May 16, 2013

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss senior catcher Chase Fowler has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the 2013 Johnny Bench Award presented by, as announced today by the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission. The award is given to the nation's top collegiate catcher.

Fowler has caught 45 of 49 games and has seen action in 46, ranking among the team's offensive leaders for most of the season. He is tied for the team lead in multi-RBI games with seven (four, 2-RBI and three, 3-RBI) and has hit safely in 35 of 46 games. Fowler, who leads the team with three triples, had a hitting-streak of nine games at one point and has 13 multi-hit games to his credit. He was named C-USA Hitter of the Week on April 15 after helping the Golden Eagles to a 5-0 week. Fowler has enjoyed a solid season behind the dish, throwing out 21-of-37 attempted base stealers (56.8%) and allowed just three passed balls.

The award is named after Hall of Famer Johnny Bench, who was twice selected the Most Valuable Player in the National League and a 14-time All-Star. He won 10 Gold Gloves in his major league career, caught 100 or more games for 13 consecutive seasons and was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in January 1989 with the fourth highest percentage of total votes cast.

Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 4, 2013. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 16th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 27, 2013.

2013 Johnny Bench Award Semifinalists
Player Team
Tyler BakerWichita State
Corey BassNorth Florida
Garrett CustonsAir Force
Blair DeBordKansas State
Zane EvansGeorgia Tech
Chase FowlerSouthern Miss
Aramis GarciaFIU
Mitchell GarverNew Mexico
Stephen McGeeFlorida State
Spencer NavinVanderbilt
Jake RomanskiSan Diego State
Victor RomeroOklahoma State
Ronnie ShaefferUC Irvine
Stuart TurnerMississippi
Matt WinnVirginia Military Institute

Online Store