Skip to main content Skip to footer

Chase Fowler Added to 2013 Johnny Bench Award Watch List

Chase Fowler

May 8, 2013

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss senior catcher Chase Fowler (Cumming, Ga.) has been added to the official watch list for the 2013 Johnny Bench Award, presented by and the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission, for the top catcher in collegiate baseball.

Fowler has led the team most of the year offensively and currently ranks second on the squad in hitting (.331) and is first in triples with three. He ranks third in the number of multi-hit contests with 13 (10, two-hit and 3, three-hit) and first in multi-RBI affairs with seven (4, two-RBI and 3, three-RBI).

In addition, Fowler has hit safely in 33 of 43 contests and has had hitting streaks of nine and eight games. Last month, he was named the C-USA Hitter of the Week (Apr. 15), helping lead the Golden Eagles to their only 5-0 week of the season.

With the backup catcher hurt for most of the year, he has not taken many rests from behind the plate this season, starting in 43 games. He has allowed only two passed ball and has thrown out 20-of-34 potential bases stealers (.588).

The watch list will be narrowed down to the semifinalists, whom will be announced May 16, 2013. Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 4, 2013. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 15th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 27, 2013.

Bench's career honors include: National League Rookie of the Year (1968); National League Most Valuable Player (1970, 1972); World Series Most Valuable Player (1976); 14-time All-Star and 10-time Gold Glove winner. In 1980, he set an endurance record by catching 100+ games for 13 consecutive seasons. Bench was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in January 1989 with the fourth highest percentage of total votes cast.

2013 Johnny Bench Award Watch List
Presented by
Blake AustinJr.Auburn
Brett AustinSo.North Carolina State
Tyler BakerSo.Wichita State
Caleb BarkerJr.Houston
Corey BassSr.North Florida
Dan BetheaSr.St. John's
Brett BoothSr.Alabama
John BormannSo.UTSA
Austin BossartSo.Pennsylvania
Garrett BoulwareSo.Clemson
Ryan BreenSr.UCF
Jack ClearySr.Maryland
Garrett CustonsSr.Air Force
Mike DanaherSr.Binghamton
Blair DeBordJr.Kansas State
Michael DeLuciaSr.Campbell
Brian DixonJr.New Orleans
Kaiana EldredgeJr.Kansas
Zane EvansJr.Georgia Tech
Drew FarberJr.UNC Wilmington
Jacob FeltsJr.Texas
Alan FilauroSr.West Virginia
Chase FowlerSr.Southern Miss
Aramis GarciaSo.FIU
Mitchell GarverSr.New Mexico
Kyle GibsonJr.Louisville
Richard GonzalezSo.Alabama State
Grayson GreinerSo.South Carolina
Radley HaddadSr.Butler
Sean HagenJr.Eastern Kentucky
John HarrisSr.Gardner Webb
Dillon HauptSr.San Diego
Nate IrvingSo.Virginia
Blake JohnsonSr.Arkansas-Little Rock
Jose LongoriaSr.Grambling State
Adam MartinJr.Western Carolina
Stephen McGeeJr.Florida State
Jeff MelilloSr.Rutgers
James MiglinJr.Toledo
Riley MooreSo.Arizona
Jackson Morrow Jr.UC Santa Barbara
Spencer NavinJr.Vanderbilt
Grant NelsonSr.Saint Louis
Brian O'KeefeSo.Saint Joseph's
Ramon OrtegaSr.Manhattan
Matt ParéSr.Boston College
Andrew ParkerSr.Towson
Jordan ParrisJr.Tennessee Tech
Max PentecostSo.Kennesaw State
Colton PlaiaSr.Loyola Marymount
Matt ReistetterJr.Hofstra
Jake RodriguezJr.Oregon State
Jake RomanskiSr.San Diego State
Victor RomeroSr.Oklahoma State
Mike RosenfeldJr.Duke
Tyler RossJr.LSU
Tanner RustJr.New Mexico State
Scott SarrattSr.Georgia State
Brandon SchottSr.Maryland-Eastern Shore
Kyle SchwarberSo.Indiana
Ronnie ShaefferSr.UC Irvine
Adam SonabendJr.Eastern Michigan
Elvin SotoSo.Pittsburgh
Josh SpanoSo.High Point
Michael SpanoSr.Florida Atlantic
Andrew StumphSr.Texas State
Alex SwimSr.Elon
P.J. TorresJr.Austin Peay
Stuart TurnerJr.Ole Miss
Luke VoitSr.Missouri State
Travis WatkinsFr,East Carolina
Trey WimmerSr.Liberty
Matt WinnSo.VMI
Jake WiseJr.Arkansas
Mack ZagunisSo.Virginia Tech
Shane ZeileSo.UCLA

Online Store