Skip to main content Skip to footer

Bradley Roney Named to Preseason Stopper of the Year Watch List

Bradley Roney

Feb. 8, 2013

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss sophomore right-handed pitcher Bradley Roney earned a spot on the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball and released by the association Friday.

Roney collected one of 75 spots on the initial watch list for the ninth annual award. In his first season last spring, Roney, who also plays in the Golden Eagle infield, posted the most saves by a Golden Eagle freshman (11). He ended the year with a 2-1 record and a 2.42 ERA, fanning 26 batters in 26 innings of work and allowed opponents to hit just .200 off of him during the campaign.

For his efforts, he was named as a Freshman All-American and also earned a spot on the Conference USA preseason team at relief pitcher.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 16, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

From the list of finalists, the NCBWA's All-America Committee will select a winner. The ninth annual winner will be announced in Omaha on Saturday, June 15, the opening day of the College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

Online Store