Skip to main content Skip to footer

Southern Miss Places Two on the Conference USA All-Academic Team

Jocelyn Lockhart

Nov. 12, 2012

Stephanie Ledgerwood

IRVING, Texas - A total of 15 student-athletes have been named to the 2012 Conference USA All-Academic Cross Country Teams, as selected by the league's sports information directors for the sport. The all-academic teams consist of student-athletes who have earned a 3.2 cumulative grade point average or better and are a key member on their team.

Five seniors, four juniors and six sophomores make up the two honorary lists. The men's all-academic team is comprised of eight honorees while the women's is made up of seven, instead of six, due to ties for the final spots.

On the women's team, senior Stephanie Ledgerwood of Southern Miss is the only repeat selection from a year ago. She placed third overall at the 2012 C-USA Championship with a personal-best time of 16:56.9, earning All-C-USA first team honors.

Joining Ledgerwood is teammate Jocelyn Lockhart who appeared on three C-USA Academic Medal lists and Conference USA Commissioner's Honor Rolls. Lockhart ran a personal-best time of 18:25.9 in the 5K at the C-USA Championship.

2012 C-USA Cross Country Women's All-Academic Team

Bjork OlsenEast CarolinaJunior3.98Public Health Studies
Meagan NicholsMemphisJunior4.00Journalism
Farrah MadanayRiceRS Sophomore4.00Art History, Religious Studies
**Stephanie LedgerwoodSouthern MissSenior3.93Forensics Science
Jocelyn LockhartSouthern MissSenior4.00International Business
Brandi KriegTulsaSophomore3.893Athletic Training
Risper KimaiyoUTEPSenior3.56Pre-Nursing
**Repeat Honoree

Online Store