Skip to main content Skip to footer

Cross Country Takes Sixth at Conference USA Championship

Stephanie Ledgerwood finished third overall, the highest finisher ever for a Golden Eagle.

Oct. 29, 2012

Photo Gallery  | Women's 5k Results Get Acrobat Reader | Men's 8k Results Get Acrobat Reader

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - The Southern Miss cross country team placed sixth overall in the team standing at the 2012 Conference USA Cross Country Championship at the Pine Belt National Golf Course and for the first time since 2001 the Golden Eagles had a first team all-conference selection.

Senior Stephanie Ledgerwood saved her best for last as the Yuma, Ariz., native placed third overall, the highest finish ever by a Golden Eagle, covering the 5K course in a personal-best time of 16:56.9.

The leader Risper Kimaiyo of UTEP started out with a fast pace with Ledgerwood and a small group to follow. At the one-mile mark, Kimaiyo had already separate herself from the field as Ledgerwood and Mary Alenbratt of SMU remained second and third, respectively, until the final four hundred meters when Alenbratt was able to out-sprint Ledgerwood for second.

The remaining Golden Eagles also posted personal-best times as freshman Felice Johnson was 22nd with a time of 17:52.9 followed by Krista Moylan at 30 with a time of 18:11.3, Jocelyn Lockhart came in 34th with a time of 18:25.9 and Kara Moylan ran a time of 19:40.8.

Kimaiyo of UTEP was the individual winner with a time of 16:42.8 followed Mary Alenbratt of SMU second with a time of 16:53.0.

SMU women's team captured the team championship after placing five runners in the top 20 spots for 38 points followed by Tulsa with 57 who had six runners in the top 20. East Carolina was third with 123 points while Rice and UAB tied for fourth with 149 points followed by Southern Miss with 154, Tulane 204, Marshall 208, UTEP 210, Memphis 220, UCF 225 and Houston 247.

2012 C-USA Women's Team Standings
1. SMU 38
2. Tulsa 57
3. East Carolina 123
4. Rice 149
4. UAB 149
6. Southern Miss 154
7. Tulane 204
8. Marshall 208
9. UTEP 210
10. Memphis 220
11. UCF 225
12. Houston 247

Individual Medalist
Risper Kimaiyo, UTEP

Outstanding Senior of the Meet
Risper Kimaiyo, UTEP

Freshman of the Meet
Ashlee Powers, SMU

Coach of the Year
Cathy Casey, SMU

2012 C-USA Men's Final Team Standings
1. Tulsa 25
2. UTEP 56
3. Rice 78
4. Memphis 101
5. Marshall 126
6. Houston 141
7. East Carolina 186
8. Tulane 236

Individual Medalist
Anthony Rotich, UTEP

Outstanding Senior of the Meet
Andy Heyes, Tulsa

Freshman of the Meet
Anthony Rotich, UTEP

Coach of the Year
Steve Gulley, Tulsa

Online Store