Track and Field's Bowie Named C-USA Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year

Tori Bowie

Tori Bowie

June 17, 2011

IRVING, Texas - After winning a national title in the women's long jump, Southern Miss' Tori Bowie was named Conference USA Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year, while two-time All-American Jackie Coward of UCF was selected the female Track Athlete of the Year, as voted on by the league's head coaches. The duo also swept C-USA's top honors during the indoor season. Taking the men's top two honors were All-Americans Richard Lowe of Memphis and Chris Carter of Houston.

Bowie became the first NCAA Outdoor National Championship (male or female) in Southern Miss history. She also became the second C-USA student-athlete to win a national crown in the long jump, as Blessing Okagbare of UTEP did so in 2010. The junior recorded a school-record and gold-medal jump of 21'9.50" (6.64m) on her fifth attempt in the NCAA finals to collect USTFCCCA All-America first-team honors.

Prior to the national meet, the junior from Sand Hill, Miss., recorded a pair of silver-medal performances in the long and triple jumps at the 2011 C-USA Outdoor Championships meet, earning All-C-USA second-team honors. She finished second at the Conference USA meet in the long jump ¾ of an inch behind the winner. She also competed in the triple jump and recorded a second-place finish at the C-USA meet with a jump of 41'0.50" behind teammate Ganna Demydova. She added long jump titles at the Texas Relays and the LSU Alumni Gold this season.

This is the third year Conference USA has awarded a Female and Male Track Athlete of the Year and Field Athlete of the Year.

2011 Jackie Coward, UCF
2010 Blessing Okagbare, UTEP
2009 Seun Adigun, Houston

CONFERENCE USA FEMALE FIELD ATHLETES OF THE YEAR 2011 Tori Bowie, Southern Miss 2010 Blessing Okagbare, UTEP 2009 Simone du Toit, SMU

CONFERENCE USA ALL-TIME FEMALE ATHLETE OF THE YEAR 2008 Susan King, Memphis 2007 Ebonie Floyd, Houston 2006 Ebonie Floyd, Houston 2005 Chandra Brewer, South Florida 2004 Dayana Octavien, South Florida 2003 Dayana Octavien, South Florida 2002 Brianna Dahm, Marquette 2001 Kerine Black. South Florida 2000 Hanne Lyngstad, Tulane 1999 Maria Otto, South Florida 1998 Hanne Lyngstad, Tulane 1997 Jenny Adams, Houston 1996 Amy Erickson, Marquette

CONFERENCE USA MALE TRACK ATHLETE OF THE YEAR 2011 Richard Lowe, Memphis 2010 John Beattie, Tulsa 2009 John Beattie, Tulsa

CONFERENCE USA MALE FIELD ATHLETE OF THE YEAR 2011 Chris Carter, Houston 2010 Steffen Nerdal, Memphis 2009 Dimitrios Fylladitakis, UTEP

CONFERENCE USA ALL-TIME MALE ATHLETE OF THE YEAR 2008 Mickael Hanany, UTEP 2007 Pablo Solares, Rice 2006 Mircea Bogdan, UTEP 2005 Carey LaCour, Houston 2004 Gaute Myklebust, Memphis and David Payne, Cincinnati 2003 Gaute Myklebust, Memphis 2002 Michael Frater, TCU 2001 Solomon Kandie, Tulane 2000 Solomon Kandie, Tulane 1999 Anthony Authorlee, Houston 1998 Llewellyn Bredwood, South Florida 1997 John Davis, Houston 1996 Kemel Thompson, South Florida


Follow Southern Miss Track and Field:    

  • Boardwalk
    Official App
    Seymours Sidekicks
    Team Shop
    Book Flights
  • Seymours Sidekicks
    Book Flights
    License Plates
    Team Shop