Skip to main content Skip to footer

Getting to Know Our Opponents - Alabama

This is the third part of a Getting to Know the 2014 Southern Miss football opponents that includes the Golden Eagles' non-conference foes and C-USA home opponents.

Alabama - Sept. 13, Bryant-Denny Stadium, Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Alabama Location: Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Opened: 1831
Enrollment: 34,853
Nickname: Crimson Tide
President: Dr. Judy Bonner
AD: Bill Battle
Colors: Crimson and White
Athletics Website:
Institution Website:
Twitter: @UA_Athletics

Bryant-Denny Stadium

Photo courtesy of USATSI

About the University of Alabama:
In 1818, the federal government authorized Alabama Territory to set aside a township for the establishment of a "seminary of learning." Alabama was admitted to the Union on March 2, 1819, and a second township added to the grant. On December 18, 1820, the seminary was established officially and named "The University of the State of Alabama." In 1827, Tuscaloosa, then the state's capital, chosen as the University's home. On April 18, 1831, inaugural ceremonies were held and the University opened. By May 28, 52 students had enrolled. The campus consisted of seven buildings: two faculty houses, two dormitories, the laboratory, the hotel (now Gorgas House), and the Rotunda.

Something You May Not Know about Alabama:
The University of Alabama is often referred to as "The Capstone" by alumni and friends of the university. "The Capstone" is a nickname for The University of Alabama coined by former UA President G. H. Denny when he referred to the University as the "capstone of the public school system of the state" in 1913. Capstone means 'the top stone or high

Notes About the Football Program: The
The school has won 15 national championships and 23 Southeastern Conference titles, while also posting a NCAA record 61 bowl appearances. One hundred and ten student-athletes have capture first-team All-America honors 129 times.

Nick Saban

Photo courtesy of USATSI

  The Head Coach: Nick Saban
begins his seventh year in Tuscaloosa, having compiled a 74-15 and has compiled a record of 165-57-1 overall in 18 years as a head coach that has included stops at Toledo (1990), Michigan State (1995-99), LSU (2000-04) and Alabama (2007-present). Saban has coached four national championship squads, winning at LSU once and at Alabama three times. The 1973 Kent State graduate has led the Crimson Tide to 10-plus win seasons in each of the last six seasons.

A Big Win for the Eagles at Bryant-Denny Stadium:
Southern Miss traveled to Tuscaloosa, Ala., to meet No. 17 Alabama on Nov. 13, 1982. After exploding for three first-quarter touchdowns, the Eagles held a 28-14 advantage at halftime. The Crimson Tide rallied in the second half, but the Eagle defense and the special teams came up with several big plays to preserve a 38-29 upset, snapping the Crimson Tide's 57-game home winning streak at Bryant-Denny Stadium, which dated back to Oct. 12, 1963. Coach Jim Carmody became the first rookie head coach to defeat the legendary head coach Paul "Bear" Bryant in his final home game.

Renewing The Series:
The two schools play for the first time since the 2005 season this year and renew a series that has been 42 meetings since 1947. Every game of the series has been played in the state of Alabama.

Online Store