Skip to main content Skip to footer

Southern Miss Announces 2007-08 Athletic Foundation Board of Directors

July 19, 2007

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - Southern Miss Director of Athletics and Chief Executive Officer of the school's Athletic Foundation, Richard Giannini, has announced the organization's 2007-08 officers and board of directors.

"We are fortunate to have quality leadership in our Athletic Foundation Board," Giannini said. "We continue to make giant strides in our fund-raising efforts each year, and it is because of the incredible leadership we have received from our volunteer board members."

This year's officers include Mike Landrum (Hattiesburg), president, Dr. Wayne Adkison (Moss Point), vice president/president elect, Nick Welch (Hattiesburg) secretary, and Vic Roberts (Hattiesburg), treasurer.

The Board of Directors is made up of seven ex-officio members. They include Dr. Martha D. Saunders, Southern Miss President, Dr. Dennis Phillips, Southern Miss professor and Faculty Athletic Representative, Giannini and Landrum, along with Al Gordy (Magee), Sharon Herrin (Hattiesburg) and Dr. Jon Thornton (Hattiesburg), who each received a Presidential one-year appointment. Pat Ferlise (Sarasota, Fla.), H. David "Doc" Roberts (Hattiesburg), Paul "Bud" Holmes (Hattiesburg), Gene Carlisle (Memphis, Tenn.), Ray Sims (Hattiesburg) and Herschel Shattles (in memorium) serve as honorary life-time board members.

The 12 at-large members for 2007-08 are Spencer Adams (Mobile, Ala.), John Deakle (Hattiesburg), Dickie Dunaway (Gulfport), Col. Tyler Fletcher (Hattiesburg), Paige Howell (McComb), Dr. Mike Molleston (Hattiesburg), Larry Payne (Hattiesburg), David Rimes (Hattiesburg), Becky Sappington (Spanish Fort, Ala.), Dick Simmons (Meridian), Charlie Sutherland (Hattiesburg) and Bill Ward (Mobile, Ala.).

One year appointments were given to Dr. Jim Thompson (Milton, Fla.), President of the USM Foundation, Joe Bryant (Hattiesburg), President of the M-Club, Aubrey Collum (Gulfport, Miss.), Past President of the Athletic Foundation, and Lou Ann Poynter (Hattiesburg), President of the Alumni Association.

The Past President's Council consists of Bob Mixon (Hattiesburg), Krandall Howell (McComb), Dr. Doug Rouse (Hattiesburg), Robert C. Dews (Hattiesburg), Mickey Hudson (Ellisville), Mack Grubbs (Hattiesburg) and Collum. The Executive Committee includes Landrum, Adkison, Welch, Roberts, Dr. Saunders, Dr. Phillips, Collum, Rouse and Giannini.

Last year, the Southern Miss Athletic Foundation had a record year of donations of over $5 million.

Online Store