Skip to main content Skip to footer

Golden Eagle Student Athletes Honored At SAAC Banquet

May 16, 2006

Hattiesburg, Miss. - More than 100 Southern Miss student-athletes were recently honored at the Student-Athlete Advisory Commitee's (SAAC) Annual Banquet, held recently at the Lake Terrace Convention Center in Hattiesburg, Miss.

The student-athletes, along with university instructors, staff and administrators were honored at the event, which highlighted the academic achievements during the 2005-06 academic year.

Among those student-athletes honored were Baseball's Marc Maddox and Softball's Charity Butler, the 2005-06 Southern Miss Male and Female Student-Athletes of the Year, respectively.

A pair of Golden Eagle program picked up team awards, including the Men's Tennis Team, which earned the Team Academic Award with an average cumulative GPA of 3.28, and the Women's Basketball Team, which earned the Team Community Service Award.

Included in the honorees were:

  • 61 student-athletes who have maintained a 3.0-3.49 cumulative GPA (Bronze Medal)
  • 22 student-athletes who have maintained a 3.5-3.74 cumulative GPA (Silver Medal)
  • 27 student-athletes who have maintained at 3.75-4.0 cumulative GPA (Gold Medal)
  • Two student-athletes who have been named as Academic All-Americans
  • One student-athlete who was selected as the Conference USA Scholar Athlete of the Year
  • 19 recognized by Conference USA as Commissioner's Academic Medalists
  • 71 received Conference USA Commissioner's Honor Roll recognition

Also honored at the program was a group of University employees who consistently demonstrate their outstanding commitment to the success of all students and who have specifically been a tremendous asset to the Department of Athletics and to our student-athletes.

The complete list of honorees follows:

Female Student-Athlete of the Year
Charity Butler, Softball

Male Student-Athlete of the Year
Marc Maddox, Baseball

Team Academic Award
Men's Tennis (3.28 Average Cumulative GPA)

Team Community Service Award
Women's Basketball

Department of Athletics Outstanding Instructor Award
Dr. Maurice Meylan (Geology)
Kevin Dougherty (History)
Cheri Alder (History)
Amy Sevier (Management)
Patty Munn (Accounting)
Dr. David Echevarria (Psychology)
Susan Howell (Mathematics)
Dr. Ben Velasquez (HPR)

Department of Athletics Outstanding Service Award
Dr. Susan Hubble-Burchell (Professor, School of HP&R)
Dr. Alvin Williams (Professor, Marketing & Management)
Mary Dayne Gregg (Instructor, Computer Science)
Dr. Dennis Phillips (Assoc. Professor/Assoc. Director, School of HP&R and Faculty Athletics Representative)

Department of Athletics Outstanding University Administrator Award
Dr. Joe Paul - Vice President of Student Affairs
Dr. Peter Fos - Dean, College of Health
Dr. Lou Marciani - Director, School of HP&R

Department of Athletics Outstanding University Staff Award
Cindy Sheffield (Registrar)
Monika Hogan (Admissions)
Debby Hill (Registrar)
Laura Malone (College of Health)
Trista Boudreaux (College of Health)
Gina Barker (Int'l Admissions)

Southern Miss Academic Medal Winners
Gold Medal Winners

Marc Maddox
Adam Smith

Audrea Ricketson
Gail Sims

Neil Mead
Jonathan Palmer

Men's Golf
Paul Apyan
Jose Cincunegui

Men's Tennis
Domagoj Anic
Christian Brodersen
Dylan Mezey

Charity Butler
Nicole Fontenot

Southern Misses
Jenna Artz

Christina Duvall

Ashley Petrinec
Leslie Robertson

Women's Basketball
Kristin Chaney
Kelsey Gurganus
Kendra Reed

Women's Golf
Helena Backlund
Ashlea Deener

Women's Track and Field
Cheris Fletcher
Hana Prudilova
Karen Tankersley
Kenika Weaver
Brittany Wood

Silver Medal Winners

Patrick Ezell
Trey Sutton
Keith Winstead

Lauren Williams

Cody Tawater

Men's Golf
Matt Wofford

Men's Tennis
Reid Bourgeois
Ahmed Abdelzaher

Men's Track and Field
Will Garrett
Ken Watson

Southern Misses
Courtney Chist
Ashley Torjusen

Chelsey Brown
Erin Hamrick
Meagan Kolts
Micah Stephens
Katie Warmington

Cassie Conley
Nicole Rock

Women's Basketball
Liz Biland

Women's Tennis
Grace Kammerer
Dana Wittmann

Bronze Medal Winners

Bryan Adams
Ryan Belanger
Bo Davis
Jeremy Davis
Michael Ewing
Bailey Hartel
Scott Massey

Haley Boleware
Ashley Carpenter
Brooke Ann Robinson
Lauren McDougald
Natalie Goldman

George Baptiste
Micah Brown
Bryant Carpenter
Travis Cooley
Stephen Daigle
Robbie D'Angelo
Stuart Davidson
Justin Harris
Luke Johnson
Don Loehr
Ryan McKee
John McMahan
Ta'Ron Sims
Brennen Thomas
Jeremy Young

Men's Basketball
Tyler Quinn
Donatas Visockis

Men's Golf
Danny Dennis

Men's Tennis
John Koti
Tommy Maestri

Men's Track and Field
David Clyburn
Leonard McLeggon

Krystal Crooks
Samantha Davis
Jessica Huerta
Kristin Pilgrim
Melissa Prouty

Southern Misses
JaRita Booker
Shawna Dunaway
Natalie Goldman
Brittany Hammons
Emily Pettus
Elizabeth Welch

Carly Barkley
Sarah Brennan
Katie Hall
Kara Harshbarger
Jackie Ryan

Amanda Blunck
Stevi Cherry
Morgan Johnson

Women's Golf
Ofelia Lopez
Nicole Mackey

Women's Tennis
Ali Blackett
Chelsea Bond
Courtney Ulrich

Women's Track and Field
Candi Johnson
Naomi Kiprotich
Lauren Reeves
Kimberly Williams

Online Store