Skip to main content Skip to footer

29 Southern Miss Student-Athletes Garner C-USA Commissioner's Academic Medals

April 17, 2010

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - A total of 420 student-athletes, including 29 from Southern Miss, have earned the Conference USA Commissioner's Academic Medal during the 2009-10 academic year in an announcement by the league office.

Medals are given to those C-USA student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or better. Women's Track and Field and Cross Country led the Golden Eagle sports with eight honorees, followed by women's soccer with four and volleyball with three.

The following is a complete list of the medal winners at Southern Miss:

Baseball (1)
Tyler Brant (Southaven, Miss.)
Men's Basketball (1)
Bryson Brewer (Waynesboro, Miss.)
Men's Golf (1)
John Gregory Joseph (Valdosta, Ga.)
Women's Golf (2)
Maria Correa (Buenos Aires, Argentina), Sandra Sohlberg (Stockholm, Sweden) Women's Soccer (4)
Amy Davis (Vestavia Hills, Ala.), Caitlin Leumas (Mandeville, La.), Jana Mason (Tupelo, Miss.), Elisha Tarbell (Mandeville, La.)
Softball (2)
Jill Mathis (Marianna, Fla.), Kirsten Perry (Sumrall, Miss.)
Men's Tennis (3)
Domagoj Anic (Zagreb, Croatia), Jan Burmeister (Kronberg, Germany), Marcus Wessinghage (Ingelheim, Germany)
Women's Tennis (3)
Frances Askew (Auckland, New Zealand), Elja van Berlo (Erp, The Netherlands), Vroni van Berlo (Erp, The Netherlands)
Men's Track and Field (1)
John Caleb Grenn (Hattiesburg, Miss.)
Women's Track and Field/Cross Country (8)
Stephanie Ledgerwood (Yuma, Ariz.), Samantha Leslie (Hattiesburg, Miss.), Jocelyn Lockhart (Brunswick, Canada), Kara Moylan (Palos Park, Ill.), Krista Moylan (Palos Park, Ill.), Tandra Patterson (Pascagoula, Miss.), Brianna Rayfield (Dallas, Texas), Petra Visic (Split, Croatia)
Volleyball (3)
Lisa Knecht (Metairie, La.), Lauren Sears (Ashburn, Va.), Kelsea Seymour (Long Beach, Calif.)

Online Store