Skip to main content Skip to footer

33 Southern Miss Student-Athletes Garner C-USA Commissioner's Academic Medals

April 15, 2011

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - A total of 487 student-athletes, including 33 from Southern Miss, have earned the Conference USA Commissioner's Academic Medal during the 2010-11 academic year, Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced.

Medals are given to those C-USA student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or better. Women's Track and Field and Cross Country led the Golden Eagle sports with six honorees, followed by women's soccer with five and baseball with four.

The following is a complete list of the medal winners at Southern Miss:


Baseball (4)
Marc Bourgeois (Granby, Quebec), James McMahon (Hattiesburg, Miss.), Austin Roussel (Lutcher, La.), Michael Sterling (Meridian, Miss.)
(Football 2)
Cory Acosta (Memphis, Tenn.), Adam Weathers (Quitman, Miss.)
Men's Golf (1)
Trent Hillis (Poplar Bluff, Mo.)
Women's Golf (3)
Kelsey Gibson (Thonotasassa, Fla.), Lauren Judson (Roswell, Ga.), Sandra Sohlberg (Stockholm, Sweden)
Women's Soccer (5)
Caitlin Leumas (Mandeville, La.), Jana Mason (Tupelo, Miss.), Elisha Tarbell (Mandeville, La.), Zoe Vanderboegh (Pinson, Ala.), Jordan Wagner (Geneseo, Ill.)
Softball (3)
Mackenzie Sher (Bellaire, Texas), Kelly Smith (Friendswood, Texas), Kayla Stanley (Hattiesburg, Miss.)
Men's Tennis (1)
Jan Burmeister (Kronberg, Germany)
Women's Tennis (3)
Frances Askew (Auckland, New Zealand), Åsa Bengtson (Helsingborg, Sweden), Elja van Berlo (Erp, The Netherlands)
Men's Track & Field (2)
Richard Collingwood (Port of Spain, Trinidad), John Caleb Grenn (Hattiesburg, Miss.)
Women's Track & Field/Cross Country (6)
Paige Jones (Pass Christian, Miss.), Stephanie Ledgerwood (Yuma, Ariz.), Samantha Leslie (Hattiesburg, Miss.), Jocelyn Lockhart (Brunswick, Canada), Krista Moylan (Palos Park, Ill.), Petra Visic (Split, Croatia)
Volleyball (2)
Lisa Knecht (Metairie, La.), Lauren Sears (Ashburn, Va.).

Online Store