Skip to main content Skip to footer

John Cox Named State's Co-Sportscaster of the Year

John Cox wins fifth Sportscaster of the Year award for the state of Mississippi.

Jan. 10, 2012

HATTIESBURG, Miss. - The long-time "Voice of the Golden Eagles," John Cox, was awarded the Mississippi Co-Sportscaster of Year award in a release by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

Cox, a native of Middletown, Ohio, recently completed his 34th football season behind the microphone for the Golden Eagles. Cox, who won for the fifth time, was joined by Ole Miss announcer David Kellum as the co-winner. Rick Cleveland of the Jackson Clarion Ledger earned the Mississippi Sportswriter of the Year nod.

Among his many duties at Southern Miss, Cox handles the play-by-play broadcasts of Golden Eagle football, men's basketball and baseball. He also hosts the Southern Miss Sports Today television shows for both football and basketball, as well as the pregame radio shows and Golden Eagle Hotline radio call-in shows.

Cox began his career at Southern Miss under the legendary Bill Goodrich while as a student. Over the years, Cox has become synonymous with the phrase "Touchdown Southern Miss" as well as his signature reminder as he ends every broadcast, reminding listeners on "the three essentials of happiness - something to do, something to love and something to hope for."

Prior to moving to the radio booth, Cox called the play-by-play on delayed telecasts of Southern Miss basketball from 1978 to 1981.

In 1982, he handled the radio play-by-play duties for Golden Eagle football and switched back to the delayed television broadcasts of Southern Miss football for three years before assuming his current radio responsibilities. Also in 1982, Cox began broadcasting Southern Miss baseball games and has continued to handle this duty.

He received his bachelor's degree in radio, television and film from Southern Miss in 1978. He has two daughters, Joye, who is married to Mike Anestis and welcomed a son, Jonah, a year ago, and, Erin, who is a seventh-grader at Oak Grove Middle School.

Bob Costas of NBC Sports and the Major League Baseball Network and John Feinstein of the Washington Post have been elected to the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association's Hall of Fame, NSSA Executive Director Dave Goren announced today. Costas and Feinstein will be honored at the 53rd Annual NSSA Awards Banquet on June 11, 2012, in Salisbury, N.C. The event marks the 50th anniversary of the NSSA's Hall of Fame.

Sharing the stage with Costas and Feinstein will be National Sportscaster of the Year Dan Shulman of ESPN and National Sportswriter of the Year Joe Posnanski of Sports Illustrated, along with 103 State Sportscasters and Sportswriters of the Year from throughout the United States.

Online Store